Monday, December 25, 2017

Merry Christmas from The South Belt Houston Digital Archive!

A very merry Christmas from the South Belt Houston Digital Archive on our 5th Christmas in existence.

That first Christmas I was so thrilled to have found this photo of my long remembered Foley's Shoe Ship, even if it was dark, out of focus, and only a fraction of the whole thing.

And here we are at year five, just a bit of improvement.

On that first Christmas, this was a close as I could get to seeing the blue Foley's "eyelids" in color

Year 5:

Some 2017 purchases for the Archive grouped here for your enjoyment

 Here's to more amazing discoveries in 2018!

Sunday, December 24, 2017

30 Days of Christmas, Day 30: 1969 at Almeda Mall

1969, the tree at the second Christmas Almeda Mall hosted.

People often ask if I can't use the photos from the microfiche newspaper holdings. The answer is, microfiche was about the worst way to preserve newspaper photographs ever. Advertisements are okay, but photos are nearly impossible. To wit:

From 1970:

Friday, December 22, 2017

30 Days of Christmas, Day 28: 1976 at Almeda Mall

This set remains one of my prized discoveries over the four years of hunting. Almeda Mall, 1976, as photographed by the Houston Post on December 2.

Thanks to Michelle and Laura for sharing Almeda Train photos from the same era:

Thursday, December 21, 2017

30 Days of Christmas, Day 27: 1976

The South Belt Leader's First Christmas!

From the 1976 Dobie Yearbook...
And a first Christmas at 11222 Sageville